The Great Consciousness Swindle

James Kent, the author of Psychedelic Information Theory: Shamanism in the Age of Reason, debates dualism.

cosmic-consciousness

“If I can convince you that something invisible exists, like an ‘invisible mind’, but I also say it is immaterial and can never be measured, then I have just made myself an expert in something that does not actually exist, but also cannot be disproven. In academia this is called “philosophy”, but in laymans terms this is called “bullshit”. I do not have a degree in philosophy, but I have a PhD in bullshit, and I can always smell it a mile away, and this theory of consciousness smells like bullshit to me.”

See more here: http://www.acceler8or.com/2012/11/the-great-consciousness-swindle-why-philosophers-will-never-find-consciousness-and-why-they-secretly-dont-want-to/

This entry was posted in Consciousness and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Great Consciousness Swindle

  1. Hariod Brawn says:

    Thanks Jarle, though I must say I found the tone of James Kent in this article to be arrogant; I also thought his conclusion to be superficially trite and convenient to his ends. His remarks on philosophy of mind generally came across as a simplistic misrepresentation, whether that was his intention or not. He seems to get ripped to shreds in the comments – all of which I read with interest – and I was hardly surprised to see that this was so. Perhaps Kent needs to show some humility together with a more rigorous reasoning before he dismisses people like Penrose and countless others who remain receptive to the idea that consciousness is not necessarily identical with matter.

    • diplopi says:

      I also read the article with interest, even though I couldn’t dwell too long time with it. I’m on my way to Australia and wanted to post it since I couldn’t save to my own computer. I always liked controversial viewpoints and provocative thoughts, and I wanted to go through it more thoroughly later 🙂

      • Hariod Brawn says:

        Yes, I like controversial viewpoints too Jarle; though I think they are better made without arrogance. Of course, I may have read too much into the tone of the article, though my own feelings were reflected more than once in the comments. Have a great trip! 🙂

  2. Here is the very brief simple way to no-mind.

    1. Be more conscious through watching.
    2. Understand yourself and life so that you become consciousness.

    In the other word, you are able to let go when you are insightful to life.

    You might be interested in this post. Feel free to check it.
    http://jadethemystic.com/2014/11/14/understanding-consciousness-awareness/

    Keep posting your sharp post.
    Jade the Mystic

Leave a comment