Sensitivity Detection Theory and Receiver Operating Characteristic using SPSS

In my masters thesis I have two image sets, which should be more or less equal in the sense of being easy/hard for the participants. So how do I find out how equal these two sets are? First I run a couple of pilot tests and then I analyze the data in SPSS where I try to determine the accuracy of a diagnostic-evaluative test in predicting a dichotomous outcome (yes/no):

sdbox

And then I put the hits, misses, false alarms and correct rejections into SPSS as the video clip shows, and do the calculation two times, to see if my two image sets are more or less equal. More to read about “Signal detection theory” here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Detection_theory

This entry was posted in Excel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

